My Garden Makes Me Happy

 

My Back Yard Garden
My Back Yard Garden

It’s the little things in life that make me happy.

That’s one of the traits of a Highly Sensitive Person (HSP), which I’ve discovered within the past few years that I fall under the category of.  Although the majority of my life these same traits have caused me to feel very uncomfortable in my own skin, I’m beginning to embrace who I am and the way I was created.

My back yard makes me very happy. I’ve created a little garden that I’m able to see out of my kitchen window. In this garden are herbs, and flowers, and a few weeds.  The old birdbath that we found under an overgrowth of Bromeliads and mother-in-law tongues has been revived and stands proud among the growing plants and color.

Is it perfect? Not in the least. That’s why I love it. It’s simple and growing and imperfect – just like me.

One of the best things about my little garden is that it attracts butterflies. I’ve seen a variety of butterflies floating and bouncing around the orange and yellow blossoms of a plant I can’t even remember the name of.

It doesn’t matter. The butterflies don’t care either.img_2337

All that matters is that the little butterflies dancing around my little garden brings so much joy to my heart that I smile every time I see one.

 

3 thoughts on “My Garden Makes Me Happy”

  1. Gardens feed the soul. Sounds like you have found your own little slice of paradise in Florida. I used to be an avid gardener and reading this makes me realize how much I miss it. Thank you for sharing. ❤️

Leave a Reply

